Spiritually Segregated (Part 4)

***CONTINUED***

This is the beginning of the exception in terms of the religious-racial-political dynamic.

Jehovah’s Witnesses – Although some may not like it, but Jehovah’s Witnesses are doing a much better job on the lines of race than most. They still need to work on attracting Asians, but with 48% White, 24% Hispanic and 22% Black. I have a difficult time being that critical of their efforts. Yes, they can and should do more, but as Jehovah as my witness they’re doing something that others are not.

But isn’t it interesting that only 10% are Republicans or lean towards a Conservative agenda and 15% are Democrats or lean towards a Liberal or Progressive agenda and 14% consider themselves as Independent.

These numbers begs me to ask why so reluctant to share their political views with 61% not wanting to answer or responding. Can Americans, this means all, be accepting of a Jehovah’s Witness as President? Or are we find our comfort clinging to our religion and our guns?

Giving the social and political views of other groups I’m unsure.

Jews – Since this is a racial/ethnic group all of its own I’ve found it difficult to make the comparison, although I would say more efforts should be made to educate all other racial groups about Judaism.

23% are Republicans or lean towards a Conservative agenda in comparison to 65% are Democrats or lean towards a Liberal or Progressive agenda. If compared to Historically Black Churches, both racial groups tend to have the same political and social interests in contrast to what some may like for you to believe, Blacks and Jews are more alike than different.

Perhaps this may begin the discussion or help explain the conversion of hate and faith in politics and religion among certain groups previously mentioned and historically documented in opposition to my Jewish friends.

Quick Note: I know this may upset my Christian friends, but it wouldn’t be the first time you’ve been at odds with me. But I want you to keep in mind that you can’t have Christianity without Judaism. Oh why did I say that, how damned am I to Hell now.

Muslims – Although some may find the sarcasm in this statement a bit much, but I’m not trying to be. I’m only asking a question to make you think about what it is you’re doing to resolve the spiritual segregation.

Why do you think that in the US 63% of Muslims are Democrats or lean more towards a Liberal or Progressive agenda than the 11% who identify with Republicans or lean more towards a Conservative agenda?

I know the answer to it, but I want to hear from you. I especially would love to hear from my friends who practice Islam because I would find your response more valuable than others because you are more directly impacted by it.

What I find interesting was when I discovered back in my childhood that there are more similarities between Muslims and Jews, Muslims and Blacks, Muslims and Non-Mainline or Evangelical White Christians than there are differences. Open yourself up to experience friendship by accepting one another not on the basis of your differences, but similarities.

Buddhists – I hope you see the political, religious and racial pattern, because 67% of Buddhist are Democrats or lean towards Democrats in their political views than the 18% of Buddhist who are Republicans. With 53% White and 32% Asian at least it’s not overwhelmingly one sided. But my Buddhist friends also have more work to do in terms of diversity.

How can we ‘coexist’ without acceptance?

Hindus – 88% Asian with only a combined 12% of all other races is in contention with the cultural divisions within other beliefs or religious practices. The trend continues in terms of the political view of my Hindu friends, because with 13% associating with Republicans or a Conservative ideology, 13% considering them Independent and 63% consider themselves to be Democrats you must take that into consideration.

Although I understand why the demographics are the way that they are that doesn’t excuse the responsibility Hindus have to also contribute to diversity.

Conclusion
There are others, but I wanted to cover the major religious/spiritual beliefs that our found in the United States. But the point of all of this is that there’s a spiritual and racial void that is found in the way we define our existence by labels placed upon us.

How long should we continue welcoming spiritual segregation within our churches? How long will we sit in silence in the segregated communities that remain psychologically and some literally in terms of our religion, politics and race?

This is why we are witnessing the destruction of the Republican Party by an element that is not Republican at all. I’m not seeking to score any political points, but to warn you of the problem. The displays of hate and misplaced frustration in the GOP is not how the party was founded, nor how it is suppose to function. This is not of politics, this is not of religion, but of culture.

When all can finally accept people for who they are more than what they are, then we will truly be in a post-racial, spiritually intergrated, socially progressive and inclusive society. But we must be willing to be the first to extend an open-mind, an open-hand and an open-heart to those whose mind is closed, fist are clenched and heart cold to accepting change.
It’s no surprise that the religious traditions that had a high concentration of Whites were Christian and Republican. This is not to discourage people of color in becoming Christians, because there are many who are, including myself. It’s not the belief that Christianity is the problem, but the misrepresentation of the belief by people that’s the problem. You noticed the trend when it came to religious beliefs that were not primarily White.

I’m not suggesting that any one group is the problem, because we all contribute to the spiritual segregation by the oxymoronic acceptance of it. It is acceptance that will move us to what Dr. King described as the ‘Beloved Community’. It is tolerance that moves us closer together and sets the foundation for what is a community.

I’m not for kicking anyone out of a church, mosque, synagogue or temple who seeks an understanding of spirituality, but I will make one exception. That is for the expulsion of James Crow aka “Jim” from any place of worship. This includes the church, the synagogue, the temple, the mosque and especially the mind of all who subscribes to a spiritual belief and those who has chosen not to.

I’m ending by quoting a great Hindu man some may recognize more from his last name, Mohandas K. Gandhi in reference to motivation of this. It wasn’t President Obama who came up with the concept of change, nor was it Martin Luther King, Abraham Herschel or even Mohandas Gandhi, but Jesus. All of these men and many others were the change.

So I quote Gandhi by ending with “Be the change that you want to see in the world.”

2 thoughts on “Spiritually Segregated (Part 4)

  1. Interesting that you say the Jehovah’s Witness’s can be in political groups. Having being raised as one by a fanatical father, I was taught to have no politics at all. My father actually kicked me out of the house and has never really spoken to me since I decided not to go to jail when conscripted into the army in 1983. We also were taught NOT to vote.

    1. Thanks Wayne for reading.

      No, according the the survey from Pew Research Forum on Religion one can conclude, but I’m sure it’s not exclusive. I’ve seen fanatics from many areas of thought and belief. I’m sure you’re not alone in your opinion and experiences.

      That’s good for you that you have the mind to think for yourself and do the things that you’ve done, because far too many people can’t or are too afraid to that. They’re more comfortable with letting it be, than asking the question or challenging traditions, so I applaud you.

      This is what I was taking from this survey when I looked at it in the ways that they [Pew Research Forum] did when they showed the data broken down into the areas I was emphasizing. When determining why there’s so much segregation in religion and how it has been filtered into our everyday living I was looking to answer the three questions.

      In respect to Jehovah Witnesses I’ve never been able to get any of the ones I’ve personally known to speak openly about politics or race. I actually want to go into detail with all of the groups mentioned, because this was just summary. Although some have taken it as me speaking against these groups, I am only wanting to do like you’re doing and go beyond the considerations of a single group and figure out hows and whys and whats.

      Thanks again Wayne for reading and respectfully commenting. Please feel free to visit again. We may not always agree 100%, but I appreciate those who can consider what is being said and seek a different perception other than their own understanding. So I thank and appreciate you for that.

      Be Good 🙂

Comments are closed.