You’re Forgiven

PrefaceI understand that not all will agree with me or my approach to what I have to say and I respect your decision. Although we may disagree or have different measures of our forgiveness, I hope that all is forgiven.

With that said, I want to share my thoughts about Tiger Woods and forgiveness.

I am not condoning the acts, but who am I to act in judgment towards him when I consider the things that I’ve done, said or thought?

I just find it difficult to cast any type of stone towards him without giving him some stones to cast back towards me. The results are still the same, we have both done things that we’re not proud of and wish we hadn’t done. We’ve both acted selfishly and believed that we wouldn’t get caught. It’s unfair, because I know of his sins, but he doesn’t know of mine. So how why should I treat him or view him any differently than I did before I knew of his sins?

To consider others beyond yourself means you seek a position of compassion.

I’m reminded of two things when I think about this situation Tiger has found himself in. One is one of my favorite quotes by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. “We are caught in a network of mutuality. I can’t be what I ought to be, until you are what you ought to be.” If I seek to be forgiven for the things I’ve done, I must be willing to forgive.

The other is found in the Bible and has been referenced with two names. One being “Pericope Adulterae”, but I’m just being unnecessarily academic by saying that. I know it and I’m sure you may know it by its more common reference “Jesus and the woman taken in adultery”. (John 7:53 – John 8:11)

We often are quick to verbally stone someone for the mistakes they’ve made without considering our own in our critique. Many unconsciously take the same position the Scribes and Pharisees took as he confronted their judgment of the woman caught in adultery.

Jesus simply asks the question of consideration. “If any one of you is without sin, let him be the first to throw a stone at her.”

The same goes for Tiger Woods, you or anyone else.

Who dares to be honest enough to demonstrate compassion towards others sincerely?

How can I cast stones when I am not perfect?

Is one sin greater than another?

Do two wrongs make it right?

In the case of Tiger Woods v The World this is the only judgment I can offer. So if no one else is willing to say it, I will.

You’re forgiven.

