Michael Steele: Blacks don’t have a reason to vote for Republican

I actually can not believe that finally, a Republican has validated what I’ve been trying to teach them about what they’re doing. I called out Black Republicans awhile ago, because I said that they were the GOP’s last ounce of social consciousness that remained. So as I was preparing to close the book on the GOP and just let them figure it out the hard way, Michael Steele actually says it.

Thank you Chairman Steele. I often disagree with you, but when I said that I would probably find myself defending you more often against your own party than I would opposing you, it was true. I really don’t know what you can accomplish that would register to many within the GOP, because I’ve tried. Many simply refuse to open their minds to consideration of others beyond themselves. I continue to wish you the best of luck, because you know what’s going on, even if you can not politically admit it. I know, it’s politics, nothing personal.

As usual, those who continue to misunderstand the message will side with what’s comfortable for them and respond with anger and denial.  Do what you do. I’ve been trying to tell you this for almost two years now. I give up on you, just as the GOP has given up on Moderate White Republicans, Asians, Arabs, Latinos, Jews, Blacks, Pacific Islanders, Catholics, Gay/Lesbian and especially any other immigrant.

Personally, I applaud the Chairman of the Republican Party, MD Former Lt. Gov. Michael Steele for finally saying what should have been said a long time ago.  Gen. Colin Powell, Former Rep Mel Martinez, Former Sen. Chuck Hagel, Late Sec. Jack Kemp and many others have said similar things, but how do you tell a group of scared people who believe the way they do things is always right and any other way is always wrong that they’re going in the wrong direction? At some point you have to stop saying anything and allow them to realize that they’re lost.

Link to the article by Andy Barr, published on 04/21/10 at Politico.com:
http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0410/36171.html

Republican National Committee Chairman Michael Steele told a group of students that African-Americans “don’t have a reason” to vote for Republicans.

Steele was asked Tuesday night during a speech to roughly 200 students at DePaul University why African-Americans should vote for GOP candidates.

You really don’t have a reason, to be honest,” Steele responded, as was first reported by the Chicago Sun-Times. “We haven’t done a very good job of giving you one.

Steele has made similar comments in the past, saying during an interview in November that some white Republicans are “scared” of him.

I’ve been in the room and they’ve been scared of me,” said the first African-American chairman of the RNC at the time. “I’m like, ‘I’m on your side.’”

In his remarks Tuesday, Steele also defended his outreach to leaders of the tea party movement despite friction between the grassroots groups and the RNC.

Those activists have now become a very large part of our voting block,” he said. “They represent a third or more of the voting age population, so they’re going to have a profound impact on elections and in some cases in the primaries this November and this spring. Both parties had better pay attention.

Final Note: Exactly Mr. Chairman. I swear I’ve been saying this for the longest. They will call you names for even trying to point out the issue and provide an answer. This is why so many have given up on what is the Republican Party. Some try to use the old tired phrase that it’s the Party of Lincoln, and remind you that Lincoln signed the Emancipation Proclomation, but has no knowledge of the events that followed that. Has no sense of history of the reasons for it. But will say that we’re the problem with America. It’s Simply Amazingly.
Good Luck Mr. Steele, I’m not a Republican, but I wish you well.
8 thoughts on “Michael Steele: Blacks don’t have a reason to vote for Republican

  1. I saw a note on the Hardball with Chris Mathews that there are at least 32 Black Republicans running for Congress, My question is what does that mean, Why are they running as a Republicans and where do they stand on the issues? I am sure the answers are different for many of them, but I wonder if any of them will get the nomination of the Republican party and how many will win.

  2. You do yourself a disservice when you edit out my comments about you not having an understanding of business and economics. You are simply wrong on the facts but apparently unwilling to admit as much. This lowers my respect for you.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

    1. John,

      I’ve tried to talk to you and get you to consider others beyond yourself. Each time you accuse me of something that I haven’t done. You still haven’t taken my advice and read the other articles I recommended, because you only seek to disagree and to appear right. You said yourself you don’t have any Liberal friends, which is apart of the issue. How can you consider others unlike yourself if you can’t even consider them to be friends. It’s an indicator of what you think of yourself when you can’t consider those who may have had a different experience than you.

      So I suggest you first, take the opportunity to go back to when you first commented and read the replies afterward. Then take the time to read through the few articles I mentioned before making and future assumptions, because you are proving yourself to be more inconsiderate each time you try to say something. Read what is being said, before commenting in anger and frustration.

      Example, Michael Steele made excellent points. I’m agreeing with him, because he and a handful of others have raised the point that I’ve raised many times before. You don’t have to listen to me. Listen to the Republicans who are trying to help you.

      So once again, good luck.

    1. Yes, it is. I still question Mr. Steele, but at least he had the nerves to raise the point to his own Party about its problem with diversity. But as another person proves, you can lead them to water, but you can’t make them drink it.

  3. I realize that groups like black Americans and women don’t have one set of solid interests with no variation — just like white people don’t have specific things we want the government to do — but quite frankly, I am a bit baffled by non-whites and women who are members of the Republican Party, despite the GOP’s efforts to limit their rights. Their message of fiscal conservatism can be appealing to any demographic, but when you couple it with the “birthers” and the people in Congress yelling “baby killer,” it’s hard to imagine the Republican Party being anything but a narrow tent.

    1. I agree. It seems like when you try to reason with them they begin to call you those names and worse. I already know you get this. I can find some area of agreement on some details of an issue with a few Republicans, but they are considered Moderate Republicans and are pushed out by their own party for being “too liberal”. Crazy.

Comments are closed.