Cafe Owner Explains Why Ge Booted a Cop

Quick Note: Those who has frequently disagreed with me for obvious reasons may be surprised with my position on this one. Those who has followed me for awhile may be able to anticipate my position on this one, but I welcome all of your comments, views and positions after watching this video. All I ask is that you demonstrate true consideration beyond your own perceptions and experiences.

After viewing this video I am left with a different view of this situation. I understand to a degree both sides, but believe that both have made mistakes in regard to this incident with assumptions and accusations of racial discrimination.

The problem begins with both sides giving into the disconnect in their understanding of race.

Misunderstanding of Race
Although I understand the café owner’s intentions, he’s making a mistake that unfortunately most White people make in terms of comprehending race. But this is also true for most people. It is one of the reasons why you may be accused of unintentionally asserting “White Privilege” because you are excluding yourself from racial responsibility when you make the statement “People of Color” without including or making clear that being White also makes you a person of color. I’m not coming against you, but really trying to give you a ‘heads up’ on that statement to help prevent confusion or your intentions.

It is the point that allows confusion and conflict in terms of your comprehension or views on race. It also allows you to be criticized by someone who may not be as considerate, patient or discerning of your intentions.

Quick Note: Yes, the cafe owner has the right to boot whomever he/she may please, as long as it isn’t violating their civil rights.

Race, Police & Business
I’m absolutely against racial profiling when the intent is to discriminate or perpetuate inequality. I also understand that the police have a job to do, to protect and serve the community. Not all persons who are in law enforcement may do that and make the mistake of incorporating their own personal biases and racial experiences into their job. In fact I would say this is not exclusive to law enforcement, but can be found in every business, including café owners.

We have to remember that the police force is made up of people, just like you and me. Both are subject to the same influences that divide and conquer us. I’ve been stopped because of my race, but I’ve also been helped and given a break by police as well. To say F— the Police means I’m speaking to all who are on the force, the ones who stopped me and were up to no good and the ones who were doing what police are called to do and don’t have to do. That is essential unfair and irresponsible for me to place good cops in with the bad. How is that form of discrimination any different than racial discrimination?

Yes, there are many instances of police doing bad things. Some are racially motivated. But when I apply fairness to the situation I must consider the instances of police doing good or the right things. When you compare the two it is difficult for me to categorize all police as being bad. I agree the police department need cultural sensitivity and/or ongoing courses in understanding race in law enforcement, but that is true in ever line of business or leisure for that matter.

Personal Experience
I’ve been on two juries where charges of police misconduct were in question.

  1. First was a case of a police officer charged with kidnapping and sexual assault of a teenage boy. The jury I was on ended with a hung jury, but he was convicted in the second trail.
  2. The other jury I was on was a charge of police misconduct and brutality. I was the only person who after listening to the charges waged against the police officer I could see the bias and bogus of the arguments. Every one on the jury with the exception of me thought the policeman was guilty on all or at least one charge. They allowed themselves to find comfort in a collective bias towards police based off of the misconduct of a few. As someone who they thought would be sympathetic to the “I hate police” party, but I told of one story of being stopped by the police for no good reason and another one for being let go by the police when I was in the wrong.

In the end, I managed to get everyone to consider what is true and what is bias a work and after a week of deliberation, people crying and some apologizing, the policeman was found not guilty on all charges.

To conclude, in this case with the Portland Police officer and the Red & Black Café I just believe that this could have been resolved much differently. Both sides can be blamed for inconsideration or bias. How do you make for community? Come together to find out.

