Republicans Set to Dine with BP Lobbyist & Joe Barton

I couldn’t make this one up if I tried. You have to admit that this is not political smart regardless of your political ideology. BUT the Colorado Republican Congressional Candidate Cory Gardner is holding a fundraiser with BP Lobbyist and Rep. Joe Barton. (Mr. I’m Sorry)

Yes, I know, but this is not me saying this. Check it out for yourself.

On Thursday, Dan Meyer, a lobbyist for BP — the besieged oil company responsible for the biggest environmental disaster in U.S. history — will co-host a luncheon at Hotel George in Washington D.C. for the benefit of Colorado GOP congressional candidate Cory Gardner.

An official with the Dubernstein Group, Meyer serves on a BP account that has brought in $100,000 in lobbying fees during the first quarter of 2010.

He’s not the only Republican official hosting the $1,000-a-plate affair, but also Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN.) and Rep. Erik Paulsen (R-MN.) are participating as well.

Now I’ve listen to a guy who was telling me how he liked Marsha Blackburn and how she’s this and that. When I said I actually knew here he was surprised. I knew her when she was a Commissioner for the TN Film Commission back in the late 90’s. I really did not think too much of her then and even less of her now. BUT I guess she’s palling around with BP Lobbyist and Big Oil apologist and GOP wannabes now. That’s the GOP for you. They’ll tell you one thing and how outraged they are and pound their fist, kick and scream, then cozy up to the corporations behind closed doors. I wonder how surprised he’ll be when he learns of this. I’ll have to tell him since they won’t mention this on FOX News.

Conservatives can say what you want about me, each time you do it just proves my point. This is why I’ve given up on many of those who follow these guys and gals. You can’t tell them anything and when you do they get mad and resort to name calling and other immature demonstrations.

So say whatcha want about me, it still doesn’t change the fact that after the oil spill, made possible by deregulations, after Joe Barton apologizes to BP for what is there mistake, it is still alright for a Republican seeking to ‘get it’ to dine with BP Lobbyist and its apologists in the Grand Oil Party. You’ll find a way to place the blame on someone else anyway.

8 thoughts on “Republicans Set to Dine with BP Lobbyist & Joe Barton

  1. Amen, Bro. Everybody knows Marsha is in the pocket of Big Oil. It’s our job to spread the truth, so she is voted out this November. She has also co-sponsored legislation with Paul Ryan of Wisconsin to privatize social security and replace medicare with a voucher system. She also voted against funding for small start-up green businesses. And, she voted against the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act. Who in their right mind, would vote for this woman? Support Dr. Greg Rabidoux. http://www.rabidoux4congress.com.

  2. Yep, Marsha’s gotta go. She is, as we say down here, “worthless as the tits on a boar hog”. Did you know she brags about not having requested one red cent for her district? Now, what kind of representative is it that doesn’t advocate for her constituents? One who is in it just for herself.

    1. When my co-worker was raving about Marsha I could barely keep my composure. I would have rather have him call me some derogatory name than to hear that. But his silence was golden when I asked him what he thought about the BP Oil spill, then Joe Barton’s apology and then Marsha Blackburn again. He said what I thought he would say about the oil sill, then not a whole lot about Joe Barton, raves about Marsha, then I told him about this dinner occasion and he had nothing to say. Then suddenly busy.

  3. Old habits are hard to break and it will take more than a few tarred birds to convince the party of “drill, baby, drill” that deregulation and the oil industry shouldn’t coincide.

    1. You got that right. Unfortunately. What does it take to get through to these stubborn, narrow-minded, socially stagnant, pro-big oil bunch before they get it that their policy and practices of deregulation doesn’t work and hasn’t work. Why not just kill the entire marine life of the gulf coast and put a big oil rig in its place instead? I give up on them all.

  4. Hey Tim– have your co-worker check out CREW (Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington). This watchdog group had Marsha listed in the top 25 most corrupt members of Congress. She is currently being investigated bt the FEC for using her campaign contributions to buy $1400 symphony tickets among other frivolous expenditures. My vote’s for Rabidoux too–pretty sharp fella- constitutional law professor, author, one of us, not a career politician.

    1. I seriously doubt it, but I have him check it out. I’m sure it will come up again. I actually do not discuss politics at work, unless directly asked. He’s been pretty quiet towards me the past two days. After I shared Marsha’s dinner plans with him.

Comments are closed.