Can I Depend on Your Vote?

Image Above:
Johanna Sigurdardottir; Prime Minister of Iceland

Many people have told me that their vote doesn’t see color, but does your vote see sexuality?

I’ve always found it interesting when people who I don’t know if they were seeking acceptance or approval by telling me they didn’t vote for President Obama because of race. I find it even more interesting of those who said they didn’t vote for President Obama, but it wasn’t because of race. I always think, if it wasn’t about race, why are you telling me that it wasn’t? Also, why is it that race isn’t attributed to White candidates as it is to everyone who isn’t? I’m not convinced by your words, but by your behavior and actions. It’s what you do and what you don’t do that is telling.

Beyond race is the question of gender and sexuality in politics. This is where I want to rest my thoughts today. I use the story of Iceland’s Prime Minister as example in asking what matters to you.

The honorable Johanna Sigurdardottir became the Prime Minister of Iceland in 2009. Prime Minister Sigurdardottir who has children from her previous (heterosexual) marriage is the only openly gay head of state.

What I found interesting about this story is the proof of Iceland’s lack of anti-discrimination hypocrisy by never publicly making an issue of Johanna Sigurdardottir’s sexuality. I say anti-discrimination hypocrisy not insinuating to practice of anti-discrimination is hypocritical, because it isn’t. I fully support anti-discriminatory practices and policies, both public and private. What makes anti-discrimination hypocritical is when those who preach it do not practice it. For any anti-discrimination practice to be true, the philosophy must be applied to all, not some.

Perhaps American in addition to the rest of the world can learn a valuable lesson from our Nordic friends in terms of tolerance and acceptance. When our consideration is allowed to roam beyond the narrow confines we apply it in our political and religious applications, then we get to see the person for who they are above what they are.

For those who have said to me that they don’t see color, but the content of a person’s character, then this is an excellent measure of your sincerity or commitment to that by considering the possibility of a future President or Prime Minister of your country being elected by the content of his/her character and not the color of their skin, religious practice or sexual orientation.

It is only my opinion, but I would expect that if a future US Presidential Candidate was honest enough to admit they were gay, I believe the powers that be would demonstrate the truth of the American dream. Their hopes of freedom and equality will essentially be publicly voted upon by those who say they are.

What if a future President or Prime Minister was openly gay, would you vote for him/her?

Do not concern yourself with the social perceptions of others. I just want you to be true. Be willing to defend your response if challenged, but only challenge with respect and consideration. It’s not about your religious beliefs or political affiliation, but your position on the boundaries of discrimination.

Work Cited
AAP, “Iceland’s gay PM weds partner “. The Age. June 28, 2010 <http://news.theage.com.au/breaking-news-world/icelands-gay-pm-weds-partner-20100628-zfbd.html>.

2 thoughts on “Can I Depend on Your Vote?

  1. QUICK NOTE:
    Do not hinge your comments on any particular person in politics. Respond to the idea of the question. I use Prime Minister Johanna Sigurdardottir, President Barack Obama and Sen. John McCain as modern living examples. It’s more about shinning a spotlight on how we view and treat each other than an individual in politics. Keep that in mind before you comment.

    Beyond politics, discrimination is found throughout oureveryday lives. Some discriminate and don’t realize it, but not with others.

    I tried not to mention racism too much in this as an example, because people tend to get distracted or caught up by it and miss the broader message that’s given. But it does provide a good example that can help some better comprehend the concept of the arguement.

    Some will say they are not racist, but have difficulties seeing what is racist to someone not like themselves or that they do not fully understand or experienced. So they believe they’re not racist.

    Example: Someone may say I can deal with some Black people in our neighborhood, but don’t want any Latinos or Muslims. They think they’re not racist. Many will say they have a Black friend or know someone Black or did something with or for someone Black and miss the point.

    The same is true here. Some will say that they don’t want someone who is gay teaching their kids or in the military, but what differences does their sexuality make if they are trained to do the job and are doing their job? It’s like the example I used in the post. You assume the bias without considering your bias.

    This is what is behind the question, “Why should I not vote for someone because of their sexuality?”

  2. I have to admit, race was one of the reasons that I voted for Obama. The main reason was that he wasn’t Clinton or McCain. I guess, and it may be misguided in some ways, that I believed that a black man would be more in tune with the average American and more inclined to support social justice due to the injustices blacks have endured.

    Perhaps that’s racist in a way. I hope not, but it’s honest.

    Obama is ranking about 50% with me right now. He does good-but-not-good-enough on health care. He seems to crack down on dishonest corporations, then gives gov’t contracts to companies like Blackwater who are traitors to this country and murderers of innocent people.
    So far, things are better than BushCo….but not enough change has transpired. Not even close.

    If Obama can survive the discontent amongst his voting base (us) and win a second term, he needs to get rid of filth like Rahm Emanuel, Axelrod, and the other DLC scum in his cabinet and get back to progressive policy making.
    Only then will his legacy reach it’s potential. If it ends in 2012, his legacy will be one of half-assed, unprincipled, capitulatory leadership because that is what has been displayed thus far.

    I’ll be voting for him regardless, but I hope I can do it with the amount of pride I did it with last time.

    Regards, my friend. 😉

Comments are closed.