Aim High

You normally learn who your real friends are in times of controversy, crisis or personal accomplishment. These are the people who will have your back and will be happy for you. This is also the same time you learn the true agenda of your critics.

If you want to learn who is really your friend and who isn’t simply dream big and tell someone what you are doing.

Observe the relationship or interaction.

Everyone can not see their future because they are too busy looking back at their pass. When you believe in yourself, have the faith to speak openly about what you are trying to accomplish and have the courage or how I like to say, the testicular fortitude to set out to make reality of what is just a dream, you will encounter opposition.

When you become comfortable with your station in life it is difficult to hear someone who is singing a different tune. Often they are afraid to go any further than where they are today out of fear of what they may lose instead of focused on what they may gain. So your dreams, aspirations and ambitions are seen as challenges to them and their way of life. This makes them uncomfortable.

I say to keep dreaming, keep seeking, and keep moving forward even when no one wants to move. Make the path not only for yourself, but for others.

Some will just look at you like you’re crazy. Those who you thought were your friends will demonstrate their interpretation of the friendship by the measure of their support. Few may laugh, mock or regard you as just a utopian dreamer and seek to bind you by their definition of existence. Others will support your efforts and even fewer with help, but when you’re comfortable with yourself you find all the support you need.

One thing that I’m learning to do with more confidence is looking a person in the face. (I am not suggesting that I avoid literally look a person in the face. I’m speaking about addressing who they are.)

Just like many others, I was uncomfortable addressing the faces of fear, hopelessness, doubt, insecurity, hate or success, because I was afraid of what I might see. We do this because we are afraid of the image of what I am or who I could be. So we avoided it. We flee towards the comforts of where we are, what was and what I am to avoid what we could or should be.

I revert to something my father said to me awhile back that made sense when I listened to its meaning. This is where I will end this thought. I’m not sure who may get it, but this is a point of inspiration for me. So in what I’ve written I hope in sharing it may be the same for you.

When you have a vision, keep in mind that not everyone will be able to see it. You just don’t give up. Keep sight of your goal.”

Be the first to believe in yourself. Be willing to stand alone for what you know to be true. No one can see your vision without you leading the way. I know of a few people who set out on an improbably journey. They endured some bumps and collected some bruises along the way, but in time, with patience and hard work, others began to see the same vision.

So when you have a vision, keep in mind that not everyone will be able to see it. Some are blind to progress, but even the blind can recognize greatness. You may not be where you want to be today, but you will never get there if you do not Aim High and Don’t Look Back.

One thought on “Aim High

  1. Hi Tim,

    Great post, and in the final analysis, Tim, great friends are what truly matters in life anyway. Have a great day sir.

Comments are closed.