The Dillema of Race

Many people who I know do not understand race or racism has tried to argue with me as if they were trying to either prove something or get my approval that they’re not racist. Some has accused me of being a racist by talking to openly about what obviously makes them uncomfortable. Just because someone may talk about race doesn’t mean that they are racist. You never need to call someone a racist, because a racist make themselves known by their words, behavior and actions.

You will routinely hear people say, “I’m not racist.” Although I understand why they feel they need to say this, it is important to use the opportunity to teach each other about race. You never need to say that you’re not racist if you’re not. The racist and the anti-racist will always make themselves known by their language, behaviors and perceptions.

In the United States and throughout the world we have learned to self-identify by placing ourselves into racial categories.

The problem with race relations in the U.S. is our race to judgment, our lack of concern and silence towards one another.

The problem is that SOME White Americans were never taught to consider themselves in the broader context of ethnicity, culture or race.

The problem is that SOME Black Americans were taught to consider themselves in the broader context of ethnicity, culture or race in comparison to Whites.

The problem is that SOME Asian Americans regardless of country of origin if other than the U.S. are routinely not considered into the discussion of race.

The problem is that SOME Latino or Hispanic in origin are dismissed and unfairly perceived to be undocumented when many have contributed greatly to what it is to be American.

The problem is not that you’re White and I am Black and she is Latino and he is Arab and they are Asian. It’s the fact that we do not consider each other is the problem.

The problem is that Black Americans are equally untrusting of others as they are to us. When you think you’re inferior, so you are. But none of us regardless of our race, circumstances, education or station in life is less than anyone else.

This is the problem and is exactly what is ruining the world.

It’s never going to change until someone, anyone, you and me begin to consider who we are today instead of what we or someone who looked like us did or was victimized by.

It doesn’t destroy or diminish you identity by changing your perceptions of my identity. Who am I to you if I am unwilling to consider you? Just because I choose to write or speak a certain way doesn’t mean I’m trying to be anything but who I am or destined to become.

5 thoughts on “The Dillema of Race

  1. We all want to go back to the years of when, but we live in the now, I ask when do we as people of different back grown and color of skin are going to ever learn. The reason to me is that nobody are willing to get to truly know themselves first then their neighbor. When are we going to understand this true statement. Some of us was put here to live what man would consider a long time yet it is stated that we only are here for a short time not even a Day Accordant to our teaching of the Bible. Saying that we all live, we all get sick and we all die, rich middle and poor we all are the same, no difference so where do we get the thought that one is better than the other, money, love hate all dies with you! Get to know yourself and you then will understand some one other than self.

  2. To me the people who refuse to discuss race or is afraid to discuss race are more likely to be racists.
    Then there are alot of people who one on one do not act racist, And they can talk to anyone and treat them as an equal, will still stereotype people of different ethnic backgrounds, I am not sure if this makes them Racists, But it does probably influence how they vote, So I guess that does make them somewhat of a racists.

  3. I know I haven’t been around in a while (thus haven’t been learning as I used to), but I continue to admire your commitment to both the topic and the cause. Carry on!

  4. Hi Tim,

    Couldn’t agree with Afrankangle more–simply another interesting and informative piece on what you do best, tearing down the walls that separate us, challenging us to find the courage to see beyond race. Hat-tip sir. Have a great week!

Comments are closed.