King on Nixon

“I must admit that I was strongly opposed to Vice President Nixon before meeting him personally. I went to him with an initial bias.

I remembered his statements against Helen Gahegen Douglas and also the fact that he voted with the right wing of the Republican Party. These were almost unforgivable sins for me at that time. After meeting the vice president, however, I must admit that my impression somewhat changed … I would say that Nixon has a genius for convincing one that he is sincere.

When you are close to Nixon he almost disarms you with his apparent sincerity. You never get the impression that he is the same man who campaigned in California a few years ago, and who made a tear-jerking speech on television in the 1952 campaign to save himself from an obvious misdeed.

And so I would conclude by saying that if Richard Nixon is not sincere, he is the most dangerous man in America.”
Letter from Martin Luther King, Jr. to Earl Mazo, September 2, 1958

5 thoughts on “King on Nixon

  1. But people who haven’t studied the philosophy, works and life of King will try to tell you that he was something that doesn’t align to his philosophy, works or life. There’s nothing anyone can really tell them at this point. You simply have to allow time and history to rightfully judge them for who they are.

    1. I am so grossed out with the whole Glen Blecchhh thing. He deserves the backfiring of a lifetime.

    1. Al, thank you for always being so nice. Even when I’m sure you may disagree. I believe you understand I’m speaking more to the problem race and hate plays. It plagues both parties in different ways. But I thank you for your kindness. It is noticed and appreciated.

  2. No problem, Tim. Couldn’t agree with you more, sharing your contention that what ails us as a society is much larger than a specific political party, or race, etc, etc….Keep up the fine work here Sir…

Comments are closed.