It’s Not a Competition

As I am in the progress of writing what I hope to be my first book, I ran across this video that kind of explained it all in respects of religion. When I look at how fractured and hurt we all have been by what divides us I can only wonder why it is so difficult for people to simply demonstrate mutual respect and consideration for others. We are more concerned about where we stand, are perceived and acknowledged that we fail to think about those we push away, admonish or ignore.

One of the most difficult questions and requests I’ve ever asked is to consider others beyond your own understanding. It takes you out of your comfort zone and familiar surroundings and places you in a place where you get to experience the feelings of those you oppose by standing with them. If we could just stop trying to change people and start embracing them, you may be surprise what each of you may learn. Just maybe you will see it from my point-of-view and I from yours.

It’s not a competition. It’s just life.

2 thoughts on “It’s Not a Competition

  1. Interestingly, as I watched this video, I was struck more about the commonalities than the differences. 🙂

    Thanks for finding this video.

Comments are closed.