What Will It Take

Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.

 

This well known phrase spoken by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. is just one of the reasons why I continue to write what I do with the passion I try to express it. It is just one reason why I have faith and know my intentions, even when their are not clear to others, are sincere and will come to pass as long as one is willing to stand up and speak out against inequality and discrimination. It is just one reason why I am not moved by the shallow words or behaviors of people who may claim victory, superiority or influential. It is just one of the reasons why I continue to urge people try forgiveness, become more tolerant and consider others beyond their own understanding.

 

In justice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.

 

The challenge is that some can’t see the injustice. Some may not realize the problem, because they are not affected by it more than an onlooking bystander. It is not of importance, because they are not familiar with it. We have become so bound to our own interests that we are not interested in others more than how they may help us with our agenda.

 

The lack of consideration, tolerance and accountability we demonstrate is the biggest threat and more deadly a weapon than any act of terror an enemy could ever take against us.

 

It was James Baldwin who said in his poem, “An Insight Into Black America” as I remix the thought I hope you consider. Although it speaks about race, I reference it as it also speaks about how we fail to consider others and where it leads us.

 

You give me this advantage. Whereas you never had to look at me because you’ve sealed me away along with sin and hell and death my life was in your hands. You sat in a classroom wondering what to do as the reality of our global arrogance began collapsing around us. You left me in a city to drown, obviously you had better things to do while the world saw what the other benefits capitalism has done for the ones who work for you. I had to look at you, but you refuse to see me. I know more about you than you know about me.

 

What will it take for you to see me in the same way I see you? Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere, but it’s just another day if you’re unaware there’s a crime.

