Recognizing Life’s Transitions

Life is interesting when you begin to see the many transitions taken place. No longer are you just a child, but the one making decisions or lending support. Learning to be present where you are takes time. It requires you to grow in patience through demonstration, open to forgiveness, consideration and reconciliation.

 

During life’s transitions we must learn to recognize our opportunities to grow, learn and change.

 

Although I see so many things I want to change or be apart of or be apart of in changing that I find myself becoming more concerned with what makes for peace than I am focused on the events of these troubling times. I’m not at peace because of the discord, discontent and unsettling actions, but continue to learn how to not allow those things to trouble my time and what I must do.

 

We often waste more time trying to get someone to accept us for what we are than offering them an opportunity to learn who we are. Becoming more open to understanding how someone arrives at their conclusions often invites you to experience life as they’ve experienced it. When I know they’re wrong, inconsiderate or so married to doubt, I want to know what I can learn from it to strengthen my understanding of the issue. Sometimes I see where I am wrong and I make the adjustment. Not everyone is wrong or even crazy, because you fail to understand them or their experience.

 

We all experience various transitions in our lives, but when we are honest with ourselves we admit that we do not recognize those transitions until we are in the midst of them, forced to confront an issue or after it has pass. Just learn to become silent enough and still long enough to recognize what is really at work.

 

Although I often receive criticism and opposition for suggesting consideration, forgiveness, reconciliation and even love; I guess I must continue receiving this criticism until people become quiet enough to realize the transition. Power concedes nothing without struggle. This is also true in times of transition.

 

Take a moment to be where you are. Recognize the transitions of life. Have enough in you to see beyond the rhetoric of others so you may understand their experiences. Love yourself enough to know who you are and what you have to offer and try not to be so selfish that you are unwilling to rightfully give to others. Giving is not always in terms of money. But be open to give someone your support, sincerity, hope, love and appreciation. A kind word travels further than any measure of criticism can delay.

 

When you can see the absolute beauty of people you don’t see what is socially, spiritually, morally or even politically blasphemous about your relationship or conversations with them. Within all that happens in life, man’s inhumanity to man is the humanity of you and me. When you realize who you are, it doesn’t matter what others say or think you are. You drop the verbal, ideological, theological, political, social and racial stones that we are so ready to throw at others and simply enjoy life as it is and work together to make life what it could be.

 

Look at what someone is and see who they are. There will come a day that will be like no other as you experience life’s transitions and tomorrow never comes.

 

 

