Far Away

Throughout our lives we do not take the time to consider the affect of what you say, think, behave and do may unintentionally burden someone. Many times we seek only the perception of being right rather than doing and being right.

 

When you practice a sincere spirit of consideration, the response to these questions could be answered by someone else speaking on your behalf.

 

Please watch this video, before addressing the questions.

 

Seeing how easily a day can change by the language, perceptions and behaviors of others, how would you change?

 

Given life’s opportunities and situations, what differently would you have said?

 

Knowing the negative results of the actions of another you may have been affiliated or interacted with, how differently would you have acted?

 

Learning a person’s experiences after a tragedy, would your thoughts, ideas or perceptions be any different?

 

We want to be accepted for who we are, but we can’t accept others for who they are. How much sense does that make?

4 thoughts on “Far Away

  1. Dear Tim,
    I happened upon your site today as I was looking for a Langston Hughes poem my church is performing in a few weeks (“I Dream A World” set to music by Andre Thomas). I found his poem embedded on one of your posts. Our church has always been committed to civil rights-the poem/music only came to question when Hughes’ use of man and mankind was under fire from those who are used to regularly changing such language to the inclusive “one” and “humankind”. The changes would occur in a Sunday service which will not be recorded for use outside the homebound. Do you have thoughts about that?

    1. Hello Cynthia or should I say Sis. Gattorna

      I’m a PK 🙂 so it’s sometimes difficult for me to just call people by their first names in a church related conversation.

      Anyway, I’m not sure of the question you’re asking.

      I’ve always been more of an advocate for civil rights and social justice. I do feel that many people of many races who are Christians have not taken seriously or even care to properly understand the significance of the works of Civil Rights or the works of those who work on behalf of it. But I can go for awhile talking about that 🙂

      1. Hi Cynthia,

        It’s a tricky subject. Personally, I’m leery of changing the words that someone else has written; it feels like re-writing history, even in a closed setting such as you describe. then again, my (Episcopal) church uses some modified liturgy which minimizes the male-gender-view of God, and I’m okay with that.

        If I were editing an updated New Testament, I would include “Letter From a Birmingham Jail.”

Comments are closed.