The Dangerous Road of Peace

Some people are simply not willing to go any further than the surface of any idea, situation or process. But if you ask people to choose between peace and war the vast majority would choose peace. So if we want peace, what are we doing to make peace?

I know, I know, it’s not your problem, but theirs. I’m just a ___________, not a social scientist, politician, leader or activist. Why are you asking me?

When you consider the life of those who were serious about doing what makes for peace, you realize the sacrifice you must make for peace. You have the same abilities as them. But this is apart of the issue in my opinion. No one is willing to make that sacrifice. We want peace, but not what makes for peace.

Whether we are enjoying a play from the balcony of a theater, or outside on the steps of a building where a prayer meeting was going to take place, riding in a convertible car during a parade, delivering a speech in a ballroom, walking to your front door after working late, on a outdoor motel balcony or even on a hill in Galilee, it seems that few people are were willing to do what makes for peace all walked a harsh, difficult, frustrating and lonesome road that lead to tragic ends.

Perhaps I simply want to answer my own question, “What makes for peace?”

Few are willing to seriously try to walk the entire journey towards peace or even consider the journey in the first place. We rather find a shortcut or secret trail. It’s like we refuse to value peace enough to pay the full price for it. We’re always seeking a deal, but never doing what is required for us all to heal. Whether it is an argument over land, policy, practices, relationships or even a perception, what are we doing for peace?

Maybe this is why. It can be a stressful and intimidating road to travel with few to no rest stops. We have heard the stories of others who have traveled the road who has never returned, or at least not yet. It’s a journey that requires you to walk by faith and not by sight, because it is naturally logical to avoid dangerous situations.

Many times we start a journey towards peace, but over time the course becomes difficult, path begins to narrow and our will turns to weary. We find ourselves on what becomes the perpetual break, never really clocking back in, just trying to ride the time out.

Then there are those who will stand on the side of the road throwing stones and placing obstacles in the way to slow you down if not stop you. What is interesting is when you ask them a simple question of consideration they have no answer.

What makes for peace?

I guess I’m arriving at the point where I still find myself compelled to ask the question, but not really expecting many to answer. I ask not pretending like I have all the answers, but to see if there’s anyone who is really wanting to find a solution.

So I’ll conclude by reiterating how I began this thought. Some people are simply not willing to go any further than the surface of any idea, situation or process.

What makes for peace?

I don’t know about you, but

So what do you do? Why should one walk down what is known to be a dangerous road of peace? How do you stay encouraged when so many present you with reasons, doubts and discouragement?

They’ll give you Reason – Why should you be asked, expected or required to do what makes for peace?

They’ll offer you Doubt – Hey, I’m just one person, what can I really do?

And serve up Discouragement – I’ll let you take care of the peace thing, I got enough on my plate to worry about what makes for peace.

I don’t know the answer, but as illogical it may seem for some, I think I’ll keep going on this road until I do. I don’t need anyone to follow, just people who are willing to walk with me. The journey is better with friends.

One thought on “The Dangerous Road of Peace

  1. The road to peace is not unlike an onion. Each layer must be peeled away and may result in tears. The layers wind through the personal peace and extend to universal peace – thousands of layers, thousands of different solutions. Extrapolate that by differences in people and you get a number that is untenable. Peace can be a police state for some and quiet contemplation in a forest for others. Every answer will be different, and every answer will be insufficient. Is this doubt? Is this reason, discouragement? Is this reason to not seek and act and dream? Even the impossible can eventually have an answer. Yet maybe the answer isn’t intangible peace, but an understanding of a goal regardless of the extenuating circumstances.

Comments are closed.