Hard To Hear vs Not Listening

Just because something is hard to hear doesn’t mean you do not need to hear it. If the person is speaking to you with sincerity, they are respectful, considerate and loving, compassionate or empathetic in their delivery, then you shouldn’t be so quick to get upset or defensive when someone is telling you something.

I’ve lost friendships and made some people upset before because I told them what was true, the truth or what they honestly may not have realized. What I’ve learned over the years is to take more time to understand how a persons comprehends criticism and advice or warnings so that I know the most effective approach to use.

But in the end you may have to accept the reality that some people just don’t and won’t get it no matter what you do or how you try to help them. It’s difficult, but you must work at not allowing it to frustrate or upset you too much. Understand that everyone might not move at the same speed. Some people get comfortable and choose to remain in place rather than moving forward.

Don’t be afraid to give someone a good word when they need it. It may result in them being upset or even losing a friendship, but they’ll never be able to say with honesty that you were not a good friend. A real friend tells you what you need to know. A friendly person tells you what you want to hear.

Are you listening? I know this may be hard to hear.

3 thoughts on “Hard To Hear vs Not Listening

  1. Even if the person is speaking to you with sincerity, they are respectful, considerate and loving, compassionate or empathetic in their delivery doesn’t at all mean they are speaking rationally or in our best interest. Why is it you only talk about how others accept criticism from you and not how you accept it from others?

    1. I’m speaking regarding both, you giving and receiving. I apologize if it isn’t clear. It was originally written in a place where most people are familiar with my intentions, so something’s are already assumed. Please forgive the assumption, but I am speaking in terms of offering and receiving advice 🙂

    2. I’m sorry I forgot to add the to my reply. I agree, there has been times people offered advice that I knew was wrong, crazy or inconsiderate. I typically let them say it and do what I know is right. Your experience in a similar situation may ave been different than mine and vice versa. There’s nothing wrong with someone trying to help, but in the end it is all to use your best judgement given what you now know.

      I hope my reply clarifies this quick thought for you, but if not I still appreciate you reading and commenting 🙂

Comments are closed.