Eight Is Enough

There was a young lady that lived in Southern Cali, she already had six children and since she lost her job she didn’t have much to do, so she had 8 more.

Now I’m being a little silly there, but this isn’t a nursery rhyme but a real story. Just think about how you would raise 14 children with no job and you’re not married. Well 33 year old Nadya Suleman now has to figure this out. But to top it off, she isn’t married by her own choice and she just got laid-off from her job.

Does this qualify for public assistance or should she be subject to the same scrutiny that those with 2 or 3 children have to contend with?

You would have to put me on suicide watch 24/7 because this would be my last thought, idea and suggestion.

E’erybody in my Fav 5 would be getting a child for Christmas. This is my special gift to you. You know you’re my favorite Cousin, right? Hey, Uncle Charles how are you doing? I got a special gift for you. J Hold up for a minute, Um where are you going Daddy? Hold up you can’t go yet.

Hmmm who else… Oh yeah… What’s up Mary, Donna, Melissa and Al how are y’all doing? I have a special gift for ya? 🙂

(Yes I’m only joking. I wouldn’t hand my kids out like Christmas gifts.)

You can’t breast feed that many children, come on ‘you’ would end up looking like a balloon that’s been sitting out in the cold for way too long. The formula bill would be a mortgage payment by itself, not to mention the diapers. How in the world can she possible afford to take care of 14 kids?

Her mother said, “It can’t go on any longer, she’s got six children and no husband. I was brought up the traditional way. I firmly believe in marriage. But she didn’t want to get married.”

There were frozen embryos left over after her previous pregnancies and she (Nadya Suleman) didn’t want them destroyed, so she decided to have more children.

I only have a 4 year old, and I know how much it cost for diapers, formula for him and still food, clothes and child care now. I could not image what it would cost if I had to multiple that 8 times, not to mention 6 other children all under the age of 7. I would have gone into cardiac arrest at the ultrasound screening when I heard 8 heartbeats. That would have been the Florida recount all over again, because I would have said “um you gotta recount that ‘cause I ain’t having more 8 kids.” (Yes, I said Ain’t. This is where it’s acceptable to use ain’t in a sentence.)

I would have sounded like President Obama during his acceptance speech at the DNC last August, ENOUGH! (with the echo behind it)

Now I gotta go in front of Congress and ask for a Bailout or something. I’ll be crying like a… You would see my face plastered on every paper with an expression like this.

Enjoy. 🙂

References & Inspirations:
Yahoo! News – 01/27/09 “Woman gives birth to octuplets in So. California Hospital
Associated Press – 01/31/09 “Grandma: Octuplets Mom Obsessed with Having Kids

4 thoughts on “Eight Is Enough

  1. Hi Tim,

    Thanks for sharing another interesting post sir. Let’s hope that the new mom and children will see bright, healthy and happy days ahead. Talk about having a full-plate!!!

  2. This whole story has many layers to it–every few days we learn a little bit more. Though I don’t believe it’s anyone’s business how many children a person decides to have, I think this woman is crazy–like in need of real evaluation. But have no fear, she’ll get her book deal, a Lifetime Movie, etc. Her PR people are already on the case.

  3. Tim,

    Well done … and I appreciate your personal notes inserted … I guess that what makes it interesting.

    Both previous comments bring forth interesting points … so I say, she should go to Congress and ask for a bailout/rescue program involving not only care, but educating them. After all, these 14 will marry and have children … oh my what this family will put forth onto the workforce. Jobs … its all about jobs!

    Before I go over the top, I must go. Good post!

    1. Hey Frank,

      Thanks for your comments. I was being a bit silly in my commentary on this one, but you make an excellent point. I was looking at how much I spent on pre-school alone last year and if I had to multiply that by 8 I could buy a BMW 525i not even factoring in the other expenses. I have a nice size house now, but that would quickly become small if I added 13 more kids to the one I already have.

      College would be out of the question for me to pay for at once. 🙂

      Thanks for reading. I invite you to visit often.

Comments are closed.