The Disagreeables

Recently, I sat with my son to watch one of the thousand animated movies he has. This one was by Pixar, “The Incredibles”. For those who do not have young children around may not know what I’m talking about. In short The Incredibles is a family of undercover superheroes, while trying to live the quiet suburban life, is forced into action to save the world.

So while watching this movie I got an email from someone who was submitting a comment on this blog. Now the majority of the comments I receive are friendly, even those that disagree with a specific point most are generally friendly. As you can imagine I do get some crazy comments from people who are just upset with someone and want to take it out on someone other than themselves. That’s fine; I’m actually use to it. Although I wonder if they will ever really understand what I’m trying to do, I seem to attract a few of them occasionally.

While I was half watching the movie and reading this person’s negative comment on something I wrote awhile ago I started to think of a good topic of discussion; The Disagreeables. It’s a group of individuals who ban together to disagree on anything remotely positive in hopes to discourage the world and bring the dark rain cloud of sorrow that remains in their life into others.

It’s amazing in how you will find some individuals who are so discontent with their own life and situations that they fail to allow any space or time for sustainable happiness to enter.

I have known for awhile that I wouldn’t get 100% agreement on anything. If I said that the world is round someone will disagree with me. If I said that the sky is blue someone would say that it’s not. Some people will not like me because of me, but not like me because they don’t like themselves. It’s sad, but reality.

What I’ve found amazing and a trend is that the individuals who offer repeated opposition never comment on the positive, inspirations or even consider the meaning of the message that I may be attempting to convey. Now my father explained this to me a long time ago and I understood it then, but now fully understand the depth of what he was saying. Some people are just unhappy. They’re unhappy not by anything that I may have done, but they are just unhappy with themselves and they do not know how to handle it so they project it onto anyone they can. They are content with being a Disagreeable.

My biggest problem is that I want to help others understand another point-of-view as I am trying to learn their point-of-view. Often some misinterpret my intentions and close their minds forevermore. So what do I do then? I’ve come up with the simple practice of refusing to participate in foolish conversations, not silly or humorous discussions, but the conversations that leads to a dead end. If the street of a person’s mind is closed then what’s the use of me trying to go down it. I’ll just have to turn around and make a detour.

And that’s basically what I believe is a suitable defense to these faux-superheroes called The Disagreeables. They only get their powers from the attention and acknowledgement of those who try to be Credible. So when the next adversarial comment is aimed at me or others who are Incredible just remember the signs of The Disagreeables.

This one was fun. 😀

PS: Before anyone makes the crazy assumption allow me to say that I do not think of myself as some superhero. I’m far far far from it. I used the movie The Incredibles as a reference to the thought I just expressed above. I actually like the villains in movies and cartoons because they’re usually predictable.

References & Inspirations
Pixar Anaimation Studios “The Incredibles

3 thoughts on “The Disagreeables

  1. Hmmm … and let me see where this is applicable …. workplace, community, politics, Congress, the opposing party, the card club, and on and on and on … brilliant … well done Tim.

  2. Another thought-provoking post, Tim. Was reading along and actually thinking about an interaction I recently experienced in my daily routine: stopping at an intersection and allowing a slow-walking senior citizen extra time to cross, which brought out irate/blaring horns from behind, thinking to myself who could be so angry about anyone allowing a elder member of society an opportunity to cross the street safely. Your Father’s assessment and your personal observations are so true; some people aren’t necessarily happy with themselves enough to even begin to share any semblance of good cheer or respect to a fellow human being. Your name, disagreeables, is apt enough, but I sure hope longterm it’s a club that eventually one can graduate to “agreeables”…good post and great parenting too–spending quality time with your son. High-five!

  3. I enjoyed watching The Incredibles. And yes, sometimes people want to remain miserable. Who are we to try and force them to move?

    I like saying ‘The Disagreeables.’ 🙂

Comments are closed.